By 1975 Kagoshima Prefecture was producing significant amounts of green tea. They are a grassy almost vegetable smell. And when you find one you love, set it free and find others to try. To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. I'm sure their other genmaichas would also be great because I've never had a miss with their teas so far. Winter Sale in progress! Incidentally, I am a full time teapot artist. This is something you can have just about anytime with any food and not be overwhelmed by the taste. If you find any other online store which sells the same item for a lower price within 6 months of the date of your purchase, please let us know, and we will be glad to match that price and refund you the difference. That delicate taste is what gives it its character. Then in the late 1980's the Kagoshima Prefectural Government mounted a concerted effort to improve quality and name recognition by strengthening the Tea Experiment Station and Tea Growers Association. But find your sweet spot and enjoy one of the most unique green teas available. Grown in China, this tea is a wonderful addition to any lunch or evening cup of tea. I have not, and I hope I never will. Very gentle but very distinct. Like most green teas the preparation is imperative to get the best cup of tea. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. If not, I guess I can get my family in the US to send it over. The aroma is outstanding as well. Tea leaves from two or more of these cultivars are often blended to achieve the desired aroma and taste balance. It is often called the “peoples’ tea” due to its humble beginnings. It opens the door for people who casually drink tea to experience some of the bolder flavors without being overwhelmed by the bitterness of some teas. This helps give the Sencha tea its distinctive golden-green hue. I find Bigalow green to taste very much like L