In California I've heard them referred to as "White-cheeked Wigeon", a good phrase to use in a web search. very fast moving virus have conspired to slow down hawk migration posts. Speaking of alternative names, the American Wigeon is called Baldpate in my 1940 Edition of Birds of Oregon by Gabrielson and Jewett. technically live, has barely received a mention. I’m just beginning work on my 11th book, tentatively called An Atlas of Members. Here is the link to my photo. We also raise pheasants, quial, peafowl, bantams and doves. Supposedly shows up with storms hence the name. It is a natural variant American Wigeon with an all-white face rather than speckled gray." hike ... [image: My personal friendly Blue Jay] Flameau's Storm Front Wigeon Floaters have game-changing keels that add motion, versatility and convenience with four tie-off points, a depth-adjusting anchor eyelet and strap-weight storage. Storm Wigeons (sometimes referred to on the hunters’ sites as “White-cheeked Wigeons”) have white or golden cheeks on their faces and white or golden necks. Most people have never heard of a Storm Wigeon. My brother shot this bird on friday afternoon and I had never seen one like it. The wigeon is a medium-sized duck with a round head and small bill. Images made with a Canon 5Diii, 100-400mm f4.5-5.6 ISII zoom lens+1.4x telextender, aperture priority setting, all images shot at ISO 500 and f8. Looking back at this year's blog posts I see that Vancouver, where I  I quickly discovered that Dan was absolutely right, that none of the birding websites even discussed the existence of this unusual looking duck. Chula Vista, California. Organized a bit like a geographic atlas, it will feature birds from  He told me that the term was used by hunters to describe a male American Wigeon with unusual plumage. Log in. Wigeons breed in central … As a verb pigeon is to deceive with a confidence game. share. Wigeon are dabbling ducks and related to mallards and teal but unlike these bird